1826
John Dewar & Sons Ltd
2,500,000 Litres
Speyside
Six pot stills – two wash, four spirit
N/A


Although Benrinnes Distillery was built in 1826 by founder Peter McKenzie, this date is somewhat misleading. The distillery was destroyed by the ‘Muckle Spate’, an enormous flood that devasted much of the Speyside region.
Benrinnes was wiped out. Bankruptcy ensued. John Innes rebuilt the distillery; he upgraded the outbuildings of a farmhouse and changed its name to Lyne of Ruthrie Distillery. Yet this new and improved site wasn’t to last – Mr Innes went bankrupt in 1838. The distillery looked doomed.
The next owners, William Smith & Co, would also declare bankruptcy, in 1860 – but at least they changed the name back to Benrinnes. More failing owners followed, as did ruinous incidents, and even a large fire. Surely this was the end of Benrinnes Distillery?
Actually, two miracles came. Whisky stalwarts, John Dewar & Sons moved in, followed by a Diageo takeover in the late 20th century. These world-class whisky players saved the day and the miraculous dram.
The distillery is currently owned by Diageo, who produce around 2.5 million litres annually. The spirit is mainly used in blends today. But one must not forget Benrinnes Distillery’s latest and greatest release – the 15-year old Flora & Fauna edition, which can often be found in Diageo’s Special Releases collection.

Request our brochure today and discover why the wealthy are pouring their money into whisky for a safe, secure way to grow their capital.